Saturday, June 15

Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim Introduces Cabinet Reshuffle with New Appointments

In a significant reshuffle, Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim has unveiled five new ministers and reorganized portfolios within his cabinet, marking a restructuring that introduces fresh faces to key positions in the government.

The newly appointed ministers include former EPF and TNB CEO Datuk Seri Amir Hamzah Azizan, who assumes the role of Finance Minister II, and Umno Supreme Council member Datuk Seri Johari Abdul Ghani, taking over as the Plantation and Commodities Minister.

Joining the cabinet are Amanah’s Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad as the Health Minister, DAP’s Gobind Singh Deo as the Digital Minister, and former Finance Deputy Minister Steven Sim, who now leads the Human Resources Ministry.

Furthermore, three Umno ministers – Datuk Seri Muhammad Hasan, Datuk Seri Khaled Nordin, and Datuk Seri Zambry Abd Kadir – have swapped roles, with Muhammad appointed as the Foreign Affairs Minister, Khalid as the Defence Minister, and Zambry taking on the Higher Education Ministry.

The restructuring has also divided the National Resources, Energy, and Climate Change Ministry into two separate entities: the Ministry of Energy Transition and Public Utilities under Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof, and the Ministry of Natural Resources and Sustainability under Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad.

In other shifts, Fahmi Fadzil is set to lead the Ministry of Communications, while Gobind Singh Deo will head the Digital Ministry. Notably, some incumbents, including Datuk V Sivakumar, have been replaced, and new deputy ministers have been appointed across various ministries.

Anwar’s revamped Cabinet comprises 31 ministers, supported by 29 deputy ministers, demonstrating a slight expansion from the previous administration. However, this 60-member lineup remains more streamlined compared to the previous 70-member cabinet configuration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *